First recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award for Orthodontic Research

As you may recall, the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) established a new award in 2015 entitled the Lifetime Achievement Award for Orthodontic Research. Early in 2016, nominations were solicited to identify persons with the following characteristics. Nominees should be those who have made significant contributions to the science related to the specialty of orthodontics. Their research would be considered original, outstanding, or innovative. Additional consideration was to be given to those who have established a legacy of research and discovery that is inspiring to the academic community. Likewise, it was considered important that the nominee has produced information that is useful, or potentially useful, in advancing the practice of orthodontics.

Nominations from AAO members were received via the AAO Web site under category “Awards.” At the Web site, any AAO member could upload the required nomination materials to place a person in nomination; in addition, AAO members could express their support for those already nominated. The Editor-in Chief also communicated with the editors of 14 other orthodontic journals, inviting each of them to place 1 name in nomination. On March 1, 2016, nominations were closed.

In total, 6 nominations were received at the AAO Web site; these included Peter Buschang, Sheldon Baumrind, Dwight Damon, Lysle Johnston, James McNamara, and William Proffit.

In addition, the following nominations were received from the editors of other orthodontic journals: Kyu-Rhim Chung ( Korean Journal of Orthodontics ; editor, Hyoung-Seon Baik), Edward Harris ( Journal of Clinical Orthodontics ; editor, Robert Keim), Lysle Johnston ( Seminars in Orthodontics ; editor, Elliott Moskowitz), Anne Marie Kuijpers-Jagtman ( European Journal of Orthodontics ; editor, David Rice), Birte Melsen ( Orthodontics and Craniofacial Research ; editor, Anne Marie Kuijpers-Jagtman), Ravindra Nanda ( World Journal of Orthodontics ; editor, Jorge Faber), William Proffit ( Angle Orthodontist ; editor, Steven Lindauer), and Bjorn Zachrisson ( Dental Press Journal of Orthodontics ; editor, David Normando).

Subsequently, the nomination materials were evaluated by the members of the AAO Council of Scientific Affairs and then presented to the members of the AAO Board of Trustees in April 2016 for their deliberation and decision.

It is an honor to inform you that Dr William R. Proffit ( Figs 1 and 2 ) was selected to receive the first Lifetime Achievement Award for Orthodontic Research. He will receive his award in San Diego at the next annual session of the AAO (April 21-25, 2017). Dr Proffit will be given his award just before his lecture entitled “Learning from Experience…and Sharing it Credibly.” At the conclusion of his presentation, the person selected to receive the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award for Orthodontic Research will be announced.

Apr 4, 2017 | Posted by in Orthodontics | Comments Off on First recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award for Orthodontic Research

VIDEdental - Online dental courses

Get VIDEdental app for watching clinical videos